I had a think about what sort of movie I want to do and brain stormed types of movies and films, be it in TV or cinema, to see what ideas would come to mind. I looked at Documentaries and what things were being documented. I looked at Dramas on Tv and what types of dramas there are and also movie trailers. The most appealing idea was a trailer for a fake movie. Below are a few I looked for inspiration.

In my sketch book I have made notes on what goes in to a trailer for each different genre.

Inception trailer notes (thriller)

  • Fast paced dramatic music
  • Exciting music
  • Crucial defining script of the movie
  • The trailer gradually builds tempo and excitement
  • Explosive scene, impressive /intriguing Fx and visuals to pull the audience in.
  • There is a sense of urgency

Saw trailer notes (horror)

  • Dark
  • Strange sounds in the dark
  • Screams
  • Fast shot cuts (gives a scene of fear and confusion)
  • Frightened people, victims
  • Thunderous heavy music
  • killer/murderer/psycho
  • Sense of urgency/ race against time.

Matrix (action)

  • Crucial movie defining script
  • Slow motion
  • High action
  • Guns ” lots of guns”
  • Martial arts
  • Fighting
  • Steady build up in music with change in tempo towards the end of the trailer
  • Mix of music tracks

The Note Book (romance)

  • Classical music
  • Love/romance
  • Heart break
  • Dreamy

Shrek (children)

  • Animals/ talking animals
  • Silly/funny to relate to children
  • Fun
  • Exciting
  • Colorful
  • Voice over narrative like ready a story book

Bruce Almighty (comedy)

  • Humor/ jokes/ funny scenes
  • Script relevant to storyline
  • Voice over (god like)
  • Palatable to audience
  • Mix of music relevant to the scenes featured

Mamma Mia (musical)

  • Theatrical music from the movie
  • Dancing (lots of dancing)
  • Singing (lots of singing)
  • Storyline portrayed through script

So after looking at these different types of trailers I have thought about what I want to get from my own trailer. I want some suspense, good dramatic sound track, I feel the music is very important to get across the style of the movie. I’m going to try and only use script to show what the movie is about. I might use some text like ‘ COMING THIS SPRING’ etc if i need more footage to fill time but would rather use live action footage. Need to think of a name for my movie, a name of a fictitious production company for the beginning (liquid dreams?) and layout the credits in a trailer style like at the end of the inception trailer at 2.20-2.24.

Ideas for trailer soundtrack. I would like something that builds up. I have asked Billy Clay to shorten my chosen music to make it fit within the 1 minute and get the timing right with crutial shots.

Really like this one, its got a great build up and a dark murderous feel to it.

Like the Rock music in this track, its fast paced. Would have to remove the singing  as it would interfere with the script. Would need to add a slower build up to fit with my idea.

Redemption has a really strong intro, would have to remover the singing from this one too, like the tempo of the verses.

Like the haunting orchestra.

STORYBOARD ANIMATIC

For my animatic I used windows movie maker on my home laptop.

Putting together my storyboard as an animatic gives me and my team a rough idea of how the film is going to look, what video transitions I want to use and how I want the soundtrack. Although the soundtrack editing is very rough I can show it to Billy Clay, who is editing my music, how and where I want the tempo to change giving him a clear idea of what I’m looking for. It also allowed me to see how it would flow and as a result added a one extra shot of James on the phone after the bike shed scene as I felt it was needed to keep the pace of the cuts, instead of using a voice over on the silhouette for James second line in the conversation.

Throughout the filming process I have been photographically documenting the process. They aren’t the best photos in the world but they do the job.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We had to improvise for the corridor scene, to get a smooth enough shot for the effect I want. So as we didn’t have a dolly, or a chair with wheels or anything with wheels for that matter, Chris, my lighting director, dragged Ben backwards down the corridor on a chair as he was filming. As I wanted the shot moving forward not backwards I will need to reverse the shot in final cut pro.

For my special effects shot I originally was going to add rain to the bike shed scene, but as unpredictable as the English weather is I had to change it to snow. My After effects snow shot was done my Ross Johnston. I also used After effects to crop out the sound boom in a scene as i had no shot without it in that was usable.

Looking at film trailers they all have the film company logo at the beginning so I came up with a fictitious production company Lucid Dreams. I did Google it, just in case first but it didn’t come up with any hits.

My Final finished movie, hope you like it, been a long and frustrating process but loved it all the same.

