Just a quick look at other character designs.

This is 9, from the animated movie 9. You can feel he is kind and harmless in his stance and face. I like his simple design, not overly intricate but equally as effective. I need to start of doing simpler character designs.This character is really detailed and its beautiful.Obviously female and a strong warrior. I like that its not draw on typical white paper, the yellow shade It takes the edge off it. Think I will try that myself in the future, it just gives it a little something extra.
I like the use of green in the shading, it highlights the detail on the characters. I need to think outside of conventional black and white and expand my thinking. I might use a background tint on my character, it gives it a bit of depth and grounding. Places it in a space rather than floating in a white void.

