Claymation

Claymation is stop motion animation using clay. For example, a clay model of a character would be placed, photographed, moved slightly, photographed and moved again. This process would be repeated and the photographs would be played back in quick succession to produce the illusion of movement.

thinking back to my childhood I used to watch Claymation children’s programs. One that i can clearly remember is Trapdoor.

This process is very raw and you can sometimes see indents in the clay of modelers finger prints. They also use block colors because if the plaster-cine mouldability. When I think of Claymation I always associate it with children’s programs it has an innocence about it, like children acting out stories with their dolls.

Pixlilation

Pixliation animation is a similar process to Claymation, but instead of using clay live actors are used and photographed. Watching clips of Pixilation animation, I find it quite grotesque in the way the people move. It looks unnatural and disturbing, Especially Jan Svankmajers’ Pixilation animation.

Pinscreen

Developed by Alexandre Alexeieff and Claire Parker. A pinscreen is a white screen that consists of thousands and thousands of pins in small holes. Light shines from the side of this platform causing each and every single pin to cast its own shadow. Each pin, being able to slide easily back and forth through the holes, can cast different shadows. The white screen becomes darker the farther the pins are pushed out. The more the pins are pushed in, the lighter the screen becomes, giving a grayish tone and eventually an all white screen again.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pinscreen_animation

This looks like a painstaking process but does look pretty amazing. Must be so tedious but the result is quite unique. The movement of the people look very ghost like, like shadows of people.

Graphic

Graphic animation is the use photographs, newspaper clippings and magazine clipping, similar to 2D cell animation and stop motions. The clippings would be put into place and photographed, moved and photographed again etc.

I’m not sure how I feel about this style, it looks kind of amature, but that’s possibly because i like the fully rendered and realistic animations.

Object

Object animation, the gradual movement of objects, the clip below says it all really.

animations like this one make me giggle, it reminds me of playing with dolls when i was younger, giving them personalities by gesturing them.

Direct Manipulation

The process of erasing and adding to an image.

What a lovely animation, so innocent, no fancy computer programs just a piece of chalk and a camera.

Cutout

The best example of this type of animation would be South Park. This is a very early animation of south park, before it went digital it was just card/paper cut out shapes manipulated frame by frame.

This posses is very similar to Graphic animation, but not so freaky. this other example is lovely, it reminds me of children’s books illustrations.

Time Laps

A series of photographs taken over a period of time then sped up.

I really like this video, the music and the type of images gives it a really eery feel.

My friend ben and I did a timelaps for a friend. Taking a photo about every 2 seconds of a movie clip on the tv. Then put on to a time line it was sped up edited and we added music.

Model and Puppet

The frame by frame manipulation of a model or puppet. Tim Burton is a great example. His work has a great freaky feel to it. I think that’s heightened by the style of the puppets.

Clangers

Clangers is a british stop motion animated children’s program. On my visit to the small world animation festival in september 2010 the puppets used were on display.

A little test using stop frame animation

I glanced at my wooden articulated bloke that i use for my art and did a very quick test using my mobile phone. I took a photo, moved him a little, took another photo, moved him a little again and so on until I had about 10 photos. Imported the photos on a time line and copied the same sequence 4 times and speed it up to the desired speed. The final result is messy but I just wanted to do a quick experiment. It’s a bit joltty, I think if I had moved the object a little less in to the next position the movement would have looked a lot smoother.

A little test in hand drawn animation

A few years ago a drew a little character from my imagination named Bo. He is a very small and nervous creature and I thought I would try to do a very small test with drawn animation to give him some life. So using a light box I drew over the original but changed the eyes slightly. I repeated that 5 times slightly changing the eyes each time, scanned the images in and put the on a time line.

I really like it, I think it adds a little bit of life to him and I find it very exciting when you see that happen to one of your characters. I think the animation is smooth and has plenty of room for future development.

