Something that stands out when I think about steampunk is cogs! lots and lots of cogs, little gadgets and machines. So I have found some clips on Youtube of machinery in motion to examine how they work and move, so I can replicate some of the movements in second life.

<iframe width=”480″ height=”390″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/NBiJBw0tp7U&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

I like the piston movement at aprox 0.50 seconds. I would like to see if  I could include something like this within the fortress.

<iframe width=”480″ height=”390″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/TnRSHk9Y2e4&#8243; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

Thought this was an interesting set up of cogs. The whole cluster of cogs work within each other.

It’s like a dance on a plate! how cute. The smaller cogs rotate faster and the larger cogs slower, but they all work together and synchronized.

There is all sorts going on in this skelenton watch. All sorts of shapes moving and at different speeds.

I googled cogs and picked out some intresting shapes and textured images for referance.


