For my fist humanoid character I think I did pretty good. I do need to work on the topology of the face but I am grasping the concept slowly. I think the colors work well even though I couldn’t get the textures working on the animated rig unfortunately. My geometry looks very cubic, but I think that’s down to topology again. I did smooth the mesh and she looked fantastic! Her legs especially! The texture on the shorts look really effective. When smoothed her face looks a lot better and looks slightly more human. I did spot that in smooth mode seams are much more visible. I couldn’t really leave her in smooth because it took the poly count to over 10000 and that was over the limit. Plus it would slow down the frame rate in unity.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had a slight problem with the mesh when i tested the import in unity. I spotted a hole in the shorts,  it wasn’t a physical hole but a back to front normal. I font understand much about normals yet but what i do know is that if they are back to front they are invisible.  It’s a quick fix, just means popping back into Maya, selecting the face and select reverse normal and re export the FBX. This was a handy thing to know because it happened a few times with some objects in my environment. It turns out that my whole speaker was inside out but we sorted it, i think i must have dragged the face into the negative past the opposite face, turning it all inside out.

