I’m glad i rigged my model because I was able to take my time and position my dragonlfy. I made sure when I was positioning, that I had my background reference moodboard up and a few more images i sourced.

dragonfly backgrounds

Common Darter Dragonfly (Sympetrum striolatum) male sunning on a dead twig6178361857_6a1d05037e

Observing things like the perches, they are all on an angle, not straight up, like my model twig. It was only a quick adjustment on the rotation axis to amend that.

I decided I wanted my dragonfly on top of the twig, rather that clinging to the side like some of the one’s in the picture. Mainly because I was thinking about how it would look in my 360, I didn’t want anything obstructing the view of the model.

Screen shot 2012-12-02 at 16.10.33

I was really happy with the rig, it really allowed me to move each of the digits to make it look like it was clinging to the twig with its claw and using its back leg to prop its back body wait up. One thing that I keep reading about realism is imperfection! So each leg is individually placed, offset from each other and set at slightly different angles from the hip.

